quarta-feira, 13 de novembro de 2013

Blog Tour: Entanglement - Dan Rix (Review + GIVEAWAY)





Title: Entanglement
Author: Dan Rix
Date of Publication: November 16, 2012
Genre: YA sci-fi romance

Blurb:

"...the scientific explanation is quantum entanglement, whereby the boy and girl—even when separated by great distances—react instantaneously to changes in each other's states..." —Dr. Casler Selavio, on the entanglement of halves.

In a world like ours, humans are born in pairs. When a newborn boy takes his first breath in the coastal town of Tularosa, the exact time is noted, recorded in the Registry, and later compared to the birth times of other newborns around the globe. There will be one identical match—his half. They will meet on their eighteenth birthday and they will spend their lives together. Except this time, there is no match.

Hotheaded heartthrob Aaron Harper is scheduled to meet his half in twenty-nine days, and he doesn’t buy a word of that entanglement crap. So what if he and his half were born the same day and share a spooky psychic connection? Big deal. After breaking one too many teenage girls’ hearts, he’ll stick to brawling with the douchebag rugby players any day.

Until the day a new girl arrives at school and threatens everything he takes for granted.

Cold and unapproachable, Amber Lilian hates the growing list of similarities between her and the one boy she can’t read, Aaron: born the same day, both stubborn, both terrified of meeting their halves. . . . All the more reason not to trust him. That she would rather die than surrender herself as her half’s property is none of his damn business. But once lost in Aaron’s dangerous, jet black eyes, she’s already surrendered more than she cares to admit.

Tangled in each other’s self-destructive lives, Aaron and Amber learn the secret behind their linked births and why they feel like halves—but unless they can prove it before they turn eighteen, Aaron faces a lifetime alone in a world where everyone else has a soul mate . . . and he’ll have to watch Amber give herself to a boy who intends to possess not only her body but also a chunk of her soul.

ENTANGLEMENT, a 75,000 word YA thriller, will appeal to readers of Michael Grant's GONE and Ally Condie’s MATCHED.


Purchase linkAmazon


What really made me want to read this book was the premise. I thought the idea that everyone had another half who they meet on their 18th birthday was really interesting!

I quite like the way the scientific facts were shown, as I think it wasn't too difficult to understand and it helps creating the set for the story.

The characters were believable (even though I sometimes questioned Aaron's actions...). Amber was a really intriguing character from the first moment and it was really good to see how she changed throughout the book.

I thought that the pacing was good, it had lots of suspense and action scenes but there seemed to be a couple of plot holes. Also, Aaron's parents were pretty much non-existent, which bothered me a bit. 

All in all, it was a very interesting and unique read and I deffinitely recommend people checking out this book.




About Dan Rix


Dan Rix lives in Santa Barbara, California with his fiancée, paranormal romance author Laura Thalassa. He started writing his first novel in college while procrastinating his architecture studio work.








GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 comentários:

Thank you so much for stopping by! Please, feel free to leave a comment! I try to answer everytime! :)